Short Notes: SSD vs HDD

Well, I picked up the Crucial M4 128GB SSD for my main boot drive, and I have to say, I underestimated the improvement in performance an SSD would give me over my old 300GB HDD.

HDD (Left) – SSD (Right)

Well… the data speaks for itself really.

Boot times have also drastically improved. From Cold-Boot to Desktop in just over 30 seconds.

Final thought: The next upgrade you do to your computer is to purchase an SSD, and recently there have been large price drops in the 128GB to 256GB range.

I got my Crucial M4 128GB SSD for just over £75 (~$120), but even 256 GB drives are coming down in price now reaching the £150 mark (~$230).

So what are you waiting for… go get an SSD!

One thought on “Short Notes: SSD vs HDD

  1. Pingback: HDD vs. SSD: The Shrinking Performance Gap and the Rise of H-HDD « stellarphoenixs

Leave a Reply

